Skip to content ↓

Junior Awards Evening

Our top performing pupils were celebrated at our Junior Awards Evening at St Mary RC Church.

The Guest of Honour was Heather Murray OBE, who worked for 42 years in the civil service and was given an OBE for her services to vulnerable people and social justice.

Mrs Murray talked about how much she loved school, how she was the first academic in her family and her long career in the civil service.

She said: “My advice is to aim big and have a goal and a vision. There will be setbacks but these make you stronger and more resilient.

“Be the best you can, be enthusiastic and enjoy what you do. Also be innovative, take a risk to make a change and also have self-belief, have faith and integrity and also humility.”

She ended saying: “You are the future, live your passion, be open to new ideas and show compassion. Do not be discouraged.”


Head Boy Jayden welcomed everyone while Head Girl Maisie gave a Vote of Thanks the end.


Certificates were presented to Years 7,8, 9 and 10 for Assessment Grades and Form Merits.

There were also awards for full attendance and punctuality as well as Year 10 Individual Subject Awards for Achievement.

In the Special Awards, Contribution to College Life, the Year 7 Award was given to Vivienne, the Year 8 Award to Ayowande, Year 9 to Dominic and Year 10 to Jayden.

Awards for Receiving Most Merits were presented to: Year 7 Kate W, Year 8 Greta, Year 9 George and Year 10 Ruby.

In other awards, the Work Skills Award was given to Kyle, The Duke of Edinburgh Award, nominated by teacher Miss Place, was awarded to Lila.

The Specialist College Sports Award was presented to Connor, who is at Accrington Stanley’s Academy.

Louka-May studies both history and geography and she was awarded the Specialist College Humanities Award.

The Contribution to the Community Award was presented to Head Girl Maisie while the Sarah-Marie Foulds Memorial Trophy for Contribution to College Faith Life as given to Faheema.

The Roger Barlow Endeavour Award was awarded to Zarina for overcoming a number of setbacks and showing resilience to become a prefect.

The final award was presented to Kodi  – the Sporting Commitment Award in memory of former teacher Mick Ennis.